SPRING 2024

Small Group Concerts

Sunday, April 28th, 1-6pm



1:00 • Greg Gisbert's Pathways Players

Gavin Kim, tenor sax- Silver Creek HS Daphne Vogt, piano- Littleton HS Taven Dutson, piano- Windsor HS Brian Wilson, bass- CCJA Near-Peer Mentor Avery Krenz, drums- Littleton HS

1:20 • Jake Alvarez's Ramblin' Roadrunners

Scott Cluff, tenor sax Adam Holcomb, trumpet Kyle Coberly, guitar John McGinley, bass Miles Jenkins, drums- CCJA Near-Peer Mentor

1:40 • Charles Blenzig's SCFD Blues Bears

Maya Fu, alto sax- DSA Julian Sales, tenor sax- East HS Joaquin Lewis, trumpet- Bear Creek HS Walter Meairs, piano- DSA Sebastian Peterka, bass- Chatfield HS Miles Jenkins, drums- CCJA Near-Peer Mentor

2:00 • Sonya Walker's Mighty Muse-icians

Daizsha Deherrera, voice Michael Hessel, trombone Howard Mendelson, guitar Ran Bachrach, guitar Scott Wolfe, bass Mike Zislis, drums

2:20 • Bailey Hinkley Grogan and Camilla Vaitaitis' Dazzle Jazzers

David Victery, guitar Eva Hutt, piano Gabriel Schneider, bass Greg Ungar, drums Camilla Vaitaitis, melodica- CCJA staff Bailey Hinkley Grogan, voice- CCJA staff

2:40 • Domi Edson's 89.3 Yardbirds

Domi Edson, alto sax- CCJA Staff Erique Johnson, piano Diane Zimmerman, guitar Mike Daniels, guitar James Middleton, bass Miles Jenkins, drums- CCJA Near-Peer Mentor

3:00 • Jake Alvarez's Modal Marketers

Jonah Teitelbaum, trumpet- DSA Isabela Ahl, vibes- DSA Jake Alvarez, guitar- CCJA Staff Paloma Ress, bass- CCJA Near-Peer Mentor Richard Avirett, drums- Blessed Sacrament

3:15 • Joe Anderies' Alpine Bank Blues

Merchants

Thai Vu, soprano sax- Denver South HS William Pettigrew, guitar- Cherokee Trail HS Brendan Sherrill, bass- Cherry Creek HS William Munro, drums- Cherry Creek HS

3:35 • Tucker Smidt's Nocturne-arounds

Miles Cousineau, trumpet- Mountain Phoenix Bradley Neeper, vibes- DSA Nayeli Ramirez, piano- Denver South HS Tucker Smidt, bass- CCJA Staff Camden Jordheim, drums- West MS

3:50 • Mark Simon's Cooly Cool Cats

Claire Lucas, voice Mary Hanson, alto sax Wayne Vinson, guitar Craig Abramson, piano Dennis Adsit, bass Jaxon Jensen, drums- Columbine HS

4:10 • Eric Gunnison's Jazz Arts Messengers

Timothy Bowar, alto sax- DSA Hailey Burton, trumpet- Niwot HS Zach Kaufman, trombone- Silver Creek HS Brody Mundt, trombone- Longmont HS Scarlett Before Horses, piano- Denver North HS Ben Egan, bass- Erie HS Andrew Elwood, drums- DSA

4:35 • Alejandro Castaño's Groovers

Kat Ellis, voice Adam Holcomb, trumpet Levi Pearson, piano Clarence Marvan, guitar Richard Hamilton, guitar Paloma Ress, bass- CCJA Near-Peer Mentor Alejandro Castaño, drums- CCJA Staff

5:00 • Gonzalo Teppa's Bebop Police

Eli Mercado, trumpet- DSA Elise Luzietti, alto sax- Littleton HS Isabella Sandvall, tenor sax- Cherry Creek HS Sam Field, bari sax- Chatfield HS Charlie Rueschhoff, trombone- Lakewood HS Luca Dardanis, piano- DSA Aesop Pelta-Tiller, bass- DSA Patrick Hurley, drums- DSA

5:30 • CCJA Big Band

Directed by Greg Gisbert, Jonathan Zimny, and Paul Romaine

Saxes: Max Kutner- flute (DSA), Elise Luzietti- alto (Littleton HS), Gavin Kim- tenor (Silver Creek HS), Jon Compton- tenor (Chatfield HS), Kat Lowe- tenor (Heritage HS), McKay Ruttbari (Heritage HS)

Trombones: Aidan Lynard (Grandview HS), Charlie Rueschhoff (Lakewood HS), Kaden Power (DSA), Theodore Doot (Cherry Creek HS), Van Staats (Heritage HS) Trumpets: Brigham Hofmann (Prairie View HS), Jack Burton (Grandview HS), Lucian Manthey (East HS), Nathan Blanchard (Lakewood HS), Squirrel Mundt (DSA) Rhythm Section: Luca Dardanis- Piano (DSA), Ben Egan- Bass (Erie HS), Ethan Donnella- Drums (Bear Creek HS)

Thanks to our Sponsors!

CU-Boulder Thompson Jazz Studies Program Colorado Creative Industries Muse Performance Space Dazzle Denver Nocturne Jazz 89.3 KUVO Metropolitan State University of Denver Holland & Hart Pathways to Jazz Cherry Creek Shopping Center Generous Parents & Alumni of CCJA

Board of Directors

Erika Enger- President Lynelle Duncan- Vice President JP Tremblay- Treasurer Joe Anderies- Secretary Adam Chasnow • Adisa Nickerson • Annie Booth Kyle Coberly • James Middleton • Matt Herzberger Matt Loran • Na'im McKee • Sonda Wynn Skye Reverte and Will Munro- Student Members

<u>Staff</u>

Chris Romaine- Executive Director Paul Romaine- Artistic Director Domi Edson- Program Assistant Jake Alvarez- Program Assistant Jonathan Zimny- Program Assistant Ann Bowar- Development Associate Allison Young- Marketing Coordinator

